Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    HEADING TO THE ROAD HOUSE

    May 5, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    DAY: 13
    Heading to the Road House
    Today is Craig’s birthday I hope I can get onto him at the Road house up the road that it has reception….
    A rotten nights sleep again I think I need to go back onto my Melatonin for a bit I keep waking around 1 am takes forever to get back to sleep….up to 3 hrs..
    Sheryl went to visit the German couple this morning...then as they were about to leave the German couple came to visit them…Apparently they are Police and come to Aust a couple of times a year to go adventuring outback….
    As we were leaving the mob from yesterday we’re pulled up making brekky near the shed as we departed this campsite, this one had a loo and a tank like the last place we stayed...Saw 3 cars parked up in a big camp area at about 28ks…also saw heaps of dingo tracks along the road as we drive…Always heaps of camel 🐫 prints but no sights for awhile…..

    Stop 1 was Ilkurlka roadhouse wow was I impressed with the setup of this place...very Modern buildings so well setup with a art studio that doubles as accommodation...the other building was the main house…a young guy was running it for the manager who lives there and has for the 12 yrs…the young guy as a child used to come to the aboriginal community each year…he had rung Bill as he needed some experience for his Uni course…Bill arranged for him to look after roadhouse for 6 weeks while he had leave….Eli had only 2 weeks left…we bought at shirt for John $35, bread $6 and $420 and x $10, total $480….The steak and kidney tin pie was $16.50, camp pie was $12.50…
    The stunning aboriginal paints weren’t too bad a price…one about 60cm x40cm was $420 not a bad price all in all considering it’s in the outback….

    As we were filling up another 2 guys come along lined up after Bill…we headed over to get have our shower which John had to start the donkey…I had first shower which silly me should have realised it was cold...but still got to wash my hair and felt clean…the guys that filled up then rolled in for their shower…got a bit on edge waiting for his shower…next the farmer or guy from Agnes pulled up with the girls in the Ranger to have their shower….

    Guys behind us…told me about the big lake that has water in it…. Sounds a must see…
    I did my photos caught up on Polos, got the news Jeanettes little baby boy had died at 23weeks….and she had to have a Caesar….so very sad…And things weren’t that good for Chris’s Neuro feedback…very sad…
    I called dad he was good, I called Craig for his Birthday and then we called Vic….and I left mgs for the girls on Marco…
    Then off we set down the road…we had been warned the road gets worse and we would be passing 10 cars with trailers…
    As we headed off the road definitely got narrower and rougher….the corrugation got really, really bad then the next thing we know the Antenna was nearly broken, so John improvised and taped his welding Rod to it to stabilise it as long as we can….
    We had a stop at the Small Salt lakes it was very big….not so small…looked like the farmer and his wives were camped further up along at the eastern end of the lake….

    We made it to our camp spot where Sheryl and Dave were.
    Once at our spot John found more issues with the car the bash plate has come loose….
    Sheryl and the boys had a meeting to plan the next part of the trip…while I pickled my frozen cucumbers rather than waste them….
    This Anne Beadell 3 campsite….
    I ended up very sick from having nachos mix extremely upset gut…vomiting and in the end my body ended up with the twitch’s…I had to have 60 mg of Nexium and 1/4 sleeper to settle everything down….
    Read more