Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    FIRST CAMP IN SOUTH AUSTRALIA

    May 8, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 7 °C

    DAY: 16
    ONWARD IN SA
    Our clocks are now an hour an a half ahead.so in fact at 8pm last night when we headed to Bed it was only 6.30 🤔🤔🤔🤔 from where we had just come….the next time change we do won’t be as big thank goodness..
    John snored something shocking last night keeping me awake most of the night. x 2 1/4 sleeping tabs at a different time during the night before I must have finally feel into a good sleep….
    Today is going to be a slow long day…again Lord I pray no breakages on our gear…
    I dreamt Judy and Pete arrived from Canada 🇨🇦 to stay with us for a short couple of weeks…and every man and his dog was at our place, coming through for different reasons…I felt overwhelmed not being a good host and showing them the sights I had hoped.

    Dark until after 7am today so it was a slower start than normal….

    First up I have lost my little red brush I have had as a travel brush for yrs… I am very
    upset about it…I looked all through my carry basket…the kitchen….I walked back to the spot we sat at yesterday waiting for the Vans…I remember walking all wound our campsite yesterday. Darned if I know where it could be….

    The Vans left early so they could get a good start with being slower…
    Then Bill discovered his battery was dead… so John had to figure away to bring his car around with the trailer to give him a start…this was achieved so off we set
    The scenery is lush and ever changing….

    Our M/Tea stop had these tiny mounds with fresh holes being dug…not sure what they were...waited for the Vans…
    We discovered that the green markers were for flora and horticultural plants along the track…marked on Sheryl’s map…No 4 was Currajong trees...after we saw this we started to see them quite a bit….
    Then the Unreal washed outs started wow were they challenging the roads ever changing in conditions and scenery…

    We were all a bit tired today with the challenging roads and the changing scenes…
    Sheryl and Dave have decided to do more kl's today as their time is running out as they have not like us at the beginning on a time line….

    We finally found a camp spot they were getting few and far between…being between the dunes there wasn’t a lot of flat land…
    John tried to fix the hot water system but no luck…so still bucket baths….
    Sheryl and Dave not here sound like they are quite a distance from us..,
    They turned up around 6pm 🕕 both seemed fine even though a tough day, chatted around the fire about the days venture …..they saw the camel's we did also…
    Steak and veg for dinner…the nights getting colder and colder…
    Read more