Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 39

    …And the Flag is a Big Plus 🇨🇭😉

    August 18, 2023 in Switzerland ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    After a brief stop in Lyon to break up the long journey, I cross into Geneva. From Geneva I catch a train to Montreux and almost as soon as we pull out of the station i’m entranced. The route takes us along lake Geneva and with the blue sky and crystal clear waters, it’s stunning.

    From Montreaux, I catch the train to Zweiswimmen - a famous route known as the Golden Pass. I stand on the platform in Montreaux as the train pulls in and modern carriages with huge panoramic windows pass me by. I hold my nerve as tourists make a beeline to the front. Thanks to a friend I have insider knowledge and so I wait as the tail end of the train finally pulls into the station. The carriages are older but they’re quiet and most importantly, the windows open, allowing me to shoot photos without the reflections that have become my pet peeve on the train journeys I’ve taken so far. I spend much of the next few hours running from side to side of the carriage, and sticking my head out of the window, the new Hozier album in on the go, as happy as Larry, (and doing an excellent impression of a golden retriever). Everywhere I look there’s towering mountains and rolling hills. I think Switzerland might just be one of the most beautiful place I’ve ever seen
    Read more