Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    End of day 1 at Ty Coch farm campsite

    May 29, 2023 in Wales ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    200 yards after crossing the river Rhymney wales coast path makes a right turn directly to the coast. After 1000 yards it slopes up onto Rumney great wharf. This is the west most point of a 22 mile / 35 kilometre sea wall/dyke that protects the Gwent levels. It is an awe inspiring piece of civil engineering. I later discovered it was first started by the Romans and continued by various others since. The remainder of my first day was to walk atop this sea defence for 3 miles to Petestone Wentlooge Golf club. I passed a number of dog walkers on the way. At one point, when passing grazing bullocks, one decided to lollup off the salt levels up the slope of the sea defence, and stomped in front of me. My friend Greg who has done some farming had said cattle struggle to run down hill so I walked briskly down the landward side of the dyke. This had no effect, the bullock was able to frolic towards me down the slope, then veer off at the last minute. The lady of a dog walking couple bravely rushed along the top of the dyke waving her arms and shouting at another bullock. It seems they were up for sport! My bullock veered off after a couple of demonstrative charges. By this time I was at the bottom of the dyke on the landward side, where I remined for half a mile until well clear of the herd.

    At the edge of Peterstone Golf Club I turned left/NNW inland to walk through the course grounds to the B4239. The OS map appears to suggest that there is a route through the golf course that would shorten the walk on the road. I discovered there is not. The only route is passed the clubhouse.

    Once on the road a right turn and few hundred yards took me to the entrance to Ty Coch (red house) farm campsite. One of the nicest sites I have been on. Attractively laid out, smart kitchen with kettle, toaster & microwave, WiFi on the pitch and excellent showers. All for £16. Very friendly welcome from proprietor Nigel. I highly recommend it.

    12.5 miles from home to Ty Coch completed at end of day of walking.
    Weather sunshine, glorious with a strong breeze.
    Number of people passed : Hundreds
    Read more