Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    End of day 2 at Tredegar Park campsite

    May 30, 2023 in Wales ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    Some distance after Peterstone Gout, where the foreshore was deeper, the concrete sea defence ended and a dyke resumed. Further along at Lighthouse Park was a sculpture of a Roman soldier and information boards (see attached photographs). These suggest the Romans were the first to attempt to defend the Gwent levels from the sea. Further on, I arrived at the Newport west (of the river Usk) lighthouse. I understand this is now a holiday let. The coast path passes on the north side of the lighthouse. There were lots of cattle sitting on the path so, wary of my cattle encounter yesterday, I retraced to the south west of the lighthouse to see if I could see the cattle around it and await their inevitable move. Once there, I realised there was a narrow beach at the foot of the sea defence before the acres of mud that stretched out to sea. At this point, the sea defence was huge rocks which I climbed down to the narrow sandy beach. Walking a few hundred yards along the sand I managed to completely curcumvent the cattle before walking back up on to the Dyke - success!

    Half a mile further the coast path drops off the dyke and onto a farm lane where I meant a couple of BT Openreach chaps trying to find a manhole that appeared to have been covered under the road gravel. They were tasked with running a cable to the nearby farm. I had a chat with one chap who I discovered was still working at 69.

    The final part of my route as off the coast path, on residential roads to Tredegar House camping and caravan park. I received a friendly welcome from warden Simon who showed me to my pitch. I was the only one booked into the camping field. Nice shower block although without the smart kitchen with kettle, toaster, microwave and importantly washing up liquid, sponge and brush I had yesterday. Also no charging points so after pitching my tent I walked to the nearby Dragonfly pub for cider, food and to charge my device then back to site for shower and early bed.

    7 miles from Ty Coch farm to Tredegar House completed at end of day 2 of walking.
    Total miles so far : 19.5
    Weather sunshine, glorious with a strong breeze from midday that I later learned had been too strong for Tuesday evening yacht race in Cardiff Bay.
    Number of people passed : a few dozen
    Read more