Satellit
Auf Karte anzeigen
  • Tag 10

    End of day 10 Llanvetherine to Llanthony

    7. Juni 2023 in Wales ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    When changing Gas cylinders while preparing breakfast discovered my spare Primus cylinder had a different fitting to my Campingaz stove. So Pepperarmis and Welsh cakes for breakfast on the hoof, but at least this got me away earlier.

    Lots of pastureland over the next 3 miles until I met the main Abergavenny - Hereford A465 road. Stopped at the Rising Sun Camping site and pub in the hope of lunch and a Gas cylinder. Pub and camping reception were closed so walked 3/4 mile north to the Pandy Inn for nice lunch and device charge. My daughter Angharad and her boyfriend Isaac were due to meet me in the evening at Llanthony Priory for food and drinks. I am eternally grateful that Angharad drove into Abergavenny after her work to buy Gas cylinders for me.

    From the Pandy Inn the hard work started of ascending the Black Mountains up Hatterrall hill. 1160 feet / 354 metres. On the way up passed 3-4 Hang Gliders flying and 3 Paragliders contemplating take off. Nostalgic for me as I remembered flying off this shoulder a number of times when I was actively flying my Hang Glider. As I walked by them the breeze dropped causing them to have to fly to their bottom landing field. The Paragliders didn't take off while I had them in sight but I learned the following morning that they had managed to fly.

    Once atop Hatterrall hill going was essentially level. The route up had been pleasant over a wide wide and grassy path. Although where not grassed the ground was hard and parched, it having not rained for some weeks.

    After a couple of miles on the ridge I descended on the Beacons Way to Llanthony Priory. The route down was far narrower than on top of the hill. Mostly a deep trench so more difficult to walk. Once at the Priory I crossed the road into Treats camping and B&B. A small site with about 5 pitches and, across a river footbridge, a large field for large DofE type parties. I was drawn to this site because cooked breakfast was on offer. Basic toilet and basin for washing for £7.50.

    Angharad and Isaac arrived a short while after I finished pitching. We were too late to eat in Llanthony Priory but Isaac in particular was fascinated walking around the ruins. We drove to the Skirrid Inn for food but ended with drinks, crisps and nuts. Things close early in the country!

    14 miles from Llanvetherine to Llanthony completed at end of 10th day of walking and 4th on Offa's Dyke path.
    Total miles so far : 111.5
    Average speed : 1.9 mph
    Weather sunshine and glorious. Another hot day with a welcome ENE breeze for much of the day.
    Number of people passed : About 4
    Weiterlesen