Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    End of day 15 Kington to Presteigne

    June 12, 2023 in England ⋅ ☁️ 23 °C

    Steep ascent our of Kington up Bradnor hill onto a gold course. Usually good Offa's Dyke path signage not quite up to par here causing me to walk off route around a few greens before I found my way out. Ascent of Rushock hill next, then descended to a bwlch/saddle before skirting Herrock hill with a gradual descent to the valley floor. On Saturday my left shoulder had been aching. I thought this would go away with Sunday's rest but it now returned. As I visualised the contents of my rucksack, I suspected that I had more weight on the left than the right. Ditchyeld bridge had a shaded section of wall where I stopped for lunch and unloaded and reloaded my rucksack moving some of the smaller items from left to right. Hey presto, shoulder ache gone!

    Another ascent followed through Burfa bank woods, then open farmland then Granner wood. Final climb was up and over Pen Offa then long descent to the B4356. Here, at the village of Dolley Green, I left the Offa's Dyke path to walk east the 1.25 miles to Rockbridge Park caravan and campsite arriving about 16:45.

    I was greeted very cheerfully by Becky who booked me within 2 pitches of the facilities block. All excellent except that the showers were fixed height, fixed temperature and push buttons for a short shower. Small details that let down an otherwise excellent site. £12 including showers.

    After laundry (£3, tumble dryer £1), pitching and shower the threatened rain had started so I donned my wet weather coat & trousers and walked the 1.2 miles to The Royal Oak in Presteigne. This is one of those pubs that is half pub, half indian restaurant. Perfect for me 'cus I imagine all the 'proper' pubs stopped food at 8 ... if they ever started as it is Monday. Run by charming lady Kat from the Punjab. She made an excellent chicken curry which washed down a treat with a Pint of Robinsons Cider.

    On my walk back in the dark with head torch was only passed by 2 cars.

    13 miles from Kington to Presteigne completed at end of 15th day of walking and 8th on Offa's Dyke path.
    Total miles so far : 160
    Average speed : 1.5 mph
    Weather sunshine and glorious and very hot until late afternoon then thunder rumbles and showers in the evening.
    Number of people passed : 3
    Objective tomorrow: Knighton and perhaps beyond
    Read more