Satellit
Auf Karte anzeigen
  • Tag 22

    Day 22 Llanymynech to Trefonen

    19. Juni 2023 in Wales ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    Monday : Up at 07:00, breakfast at Bradford Arms 08:00, Bus to Rhos 08:39, started walking 08:58.

    Bradford Arms had been very helpful with meals while I stayed 100 yards away in the (cheaper) Dolphin Inn. Over the 2 days I bought 2 breakfasts, 2 packed lunches, 1 evening meal and a few Ciders. Proprietor Bob told me the other pub in the village - The Cross Keys - also does limited food so he gets customers from them as well.

    Walk started across level pasture fields. Some in crop, some with sheep. Passed a farm with a dozen or so quite tall Rams. Chatted to the farmer who told me they were Blue faced Leicesters. She hoped to get a good price for them at market in a few weeks.

    Next a little road walking through Four Crosses village where I was able buy a pack of 10 porridge sachets, which will keep me in breakfasts for a few weeks, interleaved with commercial breakfasts where I can find them.

    Walk then moved onto Montgomery Canal tow path. Made swift progress along here. Passed over 2 impressive aquaducts over the river Vyrnwy / Afon Efyrnwy. This section of the canal was in water but not navigable. Vegetation was thick on the banks, in some places stretching right across. The vegetation was flattened in a number of places, at one point by a pair of Swans and their Signets. A number of trees also completely spanned it. Silt appeared to make the depth 12 - 18 inches. Unsure of a Canal boat's draft, but I imagine this is not enough.

    Eventually I arrived at the Llanymynech visitor centre where I had spent a few hours yesterday. At this point the path turned up hill through the Llanymynech Quarry workings then, at the top, around the Llanymynech Golf course. This part of the path was well maintained with a surface of tree chippings, no doubt maintained by the Golf course. Then down hill to village of Porth-y-waen where I crossed a disused railway track.

    From here a hard ascent through the village of Nantmawr at the top of which was a bench with a splendid view west across Powys. I was tempted to use the bench for lunch, but it was in full Sun, so I carried on.

    A little more ascent got me to the top of the grassy Moelydd Uchaf. No trees allowed a 360 degree view. Over Shropshire was particularly interesting with various hills appearing out of the otherwise flat landscape. I wished I had my friend Rita's App to identify the hills, but I have forgotten what it is called.

    Last section was downhill to the village of Trefonen. Google Maps had told me I could catch a bus from here to Oswestry to Helen's friend's B&B. But when it arrived it was a school bus, not a 'Service bus' as the driver shouted. 'Service bus' is not a term I had heard before, but I presume it means one cannot buy a fare. Luckily, a couple who I had asked which direction to Oswestry (so I knew which side of the road to wait for bus) had said, "We are going to Oswestry shortly. If you are still here when we get back, we will give you a lift" and they did!

    In Oswestry town centre bought a few supplies including a pack of needles from a haberdashery to get out a splinter that had been niggling me for days. Something else I recommend we all have in our first aid kits. I was hoping to buy some thin socks with a little padding, as the soles of my feet have been aching at the end of the days' walking, but town had no outdoors shop A bank clerk closing his Bank who I stopped to ask said "Oswestry is not that sort of town!"

    15 minutes walk out of town I arrived at Gayle and Michael's B&B 'Nant Gloyw' in an extended suburban house. Gayle said they had converted their children's bedrooms after they left home and it had been a great success. The room standard was far better than the 2 pubs I had just stayed in. Large bedroom.and en suite, mart decorations and furnishings, a leather armchair, huge choice of Teas / Chocolate / Coffees, pot of chocolate treats, bedside notepad & pencil, Toiletries etc. If you are ever needing someone to stay in Oswestry I recommend it https://www.nantgloyw.co.uk

    10 miles from Rhos to Trefonen completed at end of 22nd day of walking and 14th on Offa's Dyke path.
    Total miles so far : 226
    Average speed : 2.0 mph
    Weather began cool with some sunshine and half cloud cover. Glorious by mid morning and a welcome few degrees cooler than recent days. High teens rather than low 20s. Thunder storms forecast 2-4pm but thankfully never materialised. Just a few minutes of welcome cooling light rain. Pleased to have my 'Beau Geste' hat, bought by my friend Dave, to keep the rain from getting in my hearing aids.
    Number of people passed : 7
    Objective tomorrow : Froncysyllte
    Weiterlesen