Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Day 23 Trefonen to Froncysyllte

    June 20, 2023 in Wales ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    Tuesday : Up 06:30, breakfast at nicest B&B I have ever been in, then kindly driven by my host to Trefonen, started walking 08:58.

    As I crossed fields out of Trefonen, I was caught up by former Royal Engineer Colin from Worcester and his wife Barbara
    from Germany. They had met when he was serving in BAOR (British army on the Rhine). We began the hard ascent together up to old racecourse common. Colin and Barbara soon went on ahead of me as I could not keep up. They were carrying day packs and had 15 miles to walk. Considerably more than my 10.

    On the common asked local Alan if he thought residents would object to wild camping on the common. He didn't see any objection. Some time later, as I was exiting the common on the north side, I spotted a 'no camping' sign. Anyone entering from the south side, as I did, would have no idea this sign existed. Caught up with Colin and Barbara here resting on a bench.

    3/4 mile of road to Carreg-y-Big farm, which appreared on Google maps as a campsite but with little information. The owner told me they had just bought it, were refurbishing it, and anticipated opening in the autumn. I updated Google Maps with this information.

    After a couple of miles of ascent and descent over Selattyn Hill passed through hamlet of Craignant, up through a quarry, then onto the Dyke proper. I alwas feel a little improper being atop the Dyke knowing how archaeologicly important it is as the longest continuous structure in Europe.

    Over a road and into a field with Cows! - bullocks I think. Naturally they were right across my path giving me 'the stare', but I was brave and pressed on regardless. Steep descent down a concrete path with steps to hamlet of Bronygarth where I was hoping for a bench to sit on for lunch, but nothing doing. Up the north side of the Afon Ceiriog river valley I found a suitable spot to stop for lunch.

    Chirk castle was a short distance east. As it was not on the Dyke, I thought it was a shame the Offa's Dyke path did not go through the castle grounds. Likewise Montgomery and Welshpool had both been a short distance off route and perhaps could have been included.

    On the next short section of road called Tyn-y-groes I met hundreds of Frogs the size of my fingernail. Until they starting moving I had not noticed them. Once I had spotted them, I was walking really carefully for hundreds of yards to avoid stepping on them. A short while later, I arrived at the A5 London - Holyhead road that adds a sea journey to connect to Dublin. I had intended to finish the day here and catch a bus to Llangollen near my campsite. I was early for the bus, so pressed on to walk the next section along the Llangollen Canal towpath to Froncysyllte. This shortened tomorrow's walk and allow me to still catch the same number 64 bus to Llangollen.

    Route to Wern Isaf campsite was through Llangollen town. It had lots of interesting looking shops, many of which were closed as I arrived late afternoon. The walk up to the campsite was a step mile out of town. Passed Colin and Barbara coming down the hill having completed their 15 miles. I was welcomed by friendly Clare to a nice farm site with excellent facilities block including laundry machines (£6). Camping fee £13, showers 20p.

    Walked into town for supper and Ciders at Gales Wine bar on Bridge Street.

    14 miles from to completed at end of 23rd day of walking and 15th on Offa's Dyke path.
    Total miles so far : 240
    Average speed : 1.8 mph
    Weather rain at first, brightening later. Short period of light rain mid afternoon then sunshine for the remainder of the day.
    Number of people passed : 10
    Objective tomorrow : Pen-y-Stryt
    Read more