Satélite
Exibir no mapa
  • Dia 34

    Day 33 Rowen to Drum

    1 de julho de 2023, País de Gales ⋅ 🌬 13 °C

    Saturday : Up 08:30, away 10:45. Reached Cambrian Way at Mean Penddu rock 12:30 to resume walk south. Strong westerly wind hit me as soon as I crested the ridge. Surface was mostly grass, much of it worn to the soil and occasional small rocks. Hard work against the wind ascending first Tal-y-Fan, Foel Lwyd then very steep drop to Roman road at Bwlch y Ddeufaen followed by ascent to Drum. Foel-fras was to be my next and last objective of the day but wind was unbelievably strong, too much for tent pitching. Instead decided to descend to the east to Dulyn Bothy. In the lee of the ridge wind stopped within a few minutes as I descended. There was no route from the direction I was approaching so it was a hard 1.25 miles over rough ground that took 90 minutes.

    Arrived at the Bothy same time as a party of 3 friends. They decided to pitch their tents beside the lake that was a couple of hundred yards up hill, then came to the Bothy to cook supper. Another party of 3 pitched a couple of hundred yards downhill a short while later. Then a third party of 3 from Leeds arrived and joined me in the Bothy - so I didn't have it to myself in the end. About 10pm, a few minutes after retiring 1 more chap appeared in the Bothy for the night. He had been on the ridge but had found it very cold, so retreated to the warmth of the Bothy.

    9 miles from Rowen to Dulyn Bothy completed at end of 33rd day of walking and 2nd on the Cambrian Way.
    Total miles so far : 344
    Average speed : 1.3 mph
    Weather : rain overnight and in the morning with strong wind. The wind continued all day and kept temperature sufficiently cool for me to wear jacket and overtrousers all day. Wind was strong enough to halt me and push me over at times.
    Number of people passed : 10
    Objective tomorrow : YHA Idwal
    Leia mais