Satelliitti
Näytä kartalla
  • Päivä 42

    Day 41 day off in Maentwrog & Porthmadog

    9. heinäkuuta 2023, Wales ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    Sunday : Up 08:00, away 09:10.

    Slept later than I intended, presumably tired from lack of sleep yesterday. Skipped breakfast and started walk to Maentwrog for 10:00 Service at St.Twrog's. I was a little early as I passed Grapes Hotel, which was open, so popped in for a cup of Tea. Visiting Minister's Sermon included reference to Joseph, perhaps unwisely, telling his brothers his dream that he had of them bowing down to him and so incurring their ire and their plot to dispose of him. He reflected that similarly in a murder investigation, the Police first look to eliminate family members. I am sure we all know the story that it all worked out okay in the end as Joseph became Pharaoh's right hand man and was reconciled to his brothers.

    During the after Service Teas and Coffees I asked about buses to Porthmadog. Parishioner Doris was driving to Porthmadog so I had a lift.

    In Porthmadog used a laundrette. Probably for the first time since I was a child using one under my Mother's instruction.

    Then walked through Porthmadog High Street to the Ffestiniog railway station. I was hoping to walk around Porthmadog harbour and Martime museum but last train was in 20 minutes so I boarded for Bleanau Ffestiniog.

    Blaenau was somewhat sad, although council funds had clearly been spent to make it looks better on smart paving and public buildings.

    Rerurned on the train as far as Plas Halt, the closet to Maentwrog. I was puzzled why the train occasionally slowed until, in a curve in the line, I realised it was for sheep on the line!

    2.5 miles around Maentwrog, Porthmadog and Blaenau Ffestiniog completed at end of 41st day of walking.
    Total miles so far : 401
    Weather : sunshine and glorious most of the day. Heavy rain late afternoon for an hour
    Number of people passed : Hundreds
    Objective tomorrow : Cae Adda campsite, Trawsfynydd
    Lue lisää