Satelliet
Weergeven op kaart
  • Dag 10

    Drop dead Fredericton

    11 mei 2023, Canada ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    New Brunswick's capital is beautifully set on the banks of the St John river and things were looking up for my accomodation options despite all WS hosts in the area being unavailable - I'd asked a WS contact 50 miles away for some advice and then mentioned I was struggling to find somewhere here, but she said she'd might have a friend whose garden I could camp in, but in the end, despite waiting for 4 hours for her confirmation it wasn't to be. Meh.

    Motel, local pub, fish & chips and beer.

    Next morning I stuffed my face at breakfast and half-inched enough for lunch too (some advantages to unbugeted motels). Then set off in search of bear spray once more - for some reason neither motel clerks, shopkeepers nor the public can understand my pronunciation of "bear spray" and each time I had to resort to embarassing childlike mimes, clenched teeth and growls 😬🙄. I finally found Jarred in Canadian Tires behind a caged-off area full of guns and rifles (the "Sports" section of the store). I thought I'd go in strong with "Can I buy a gun?" No point dickin around, right? If something's trying to maul you would rather squirt something at it, in the hope that you get it in the eyes, or just pull a trigger?

    Bad mistake. Que 10 minute lecture from mislocated Comic Book Guy on the rules and regulations of gun ownership in Canada, INCLUDING ALL provincial variations. If I could have reached the guns I might have just ended it all there.... Just to get him to stop. Anyway, he sold me some bear spray after I signed a massive waiver and I asked him if he'd mind being in a photo. He seemed surprised and confused at the same time but then quickly unlocked the secure area and beckoned me in for the shot so I could get the guns in the background. And there you have it folks.... If you ever want instant access to a shit load of high powered fire arms and ammunition but can't be arsed waiting for a police check and don't mind stealing, just buff Jarred's ego a little with a selfie request.
    Meer informatie