Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Ottawa's Rest Day

    May 29, 2023 in Canada ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    I've had the two most lovely days staying with Lisa, her folks Brian and Mary, and baby Reese in Ottawa - they've kindly opened their doors to me based on the weird friends of friends of random-people-met-in-parks which has made it even more special. I've been cooked for, tourist-guided, taxied, tent-fix-assisted and lots of other good stuff! Marvelous! I've even got a contact (Lisa's hubby Ash) in Thunder Bay further up the track to meet!

    ...

    Rest day / city exploration day fell unfortunately on a Monday and it seems the top history museum and a couple of other places that I'd been hoping to visit were closed, but I had a good well-caffeined mooch around the capital, a peruse of the National Art Gallery and topped it off with a classic lazy tourist bus tour. Oh...also pap-snapped the Icelandic President Guðni Th. Jóhannesson who had motrocaded into the city for a wreath-laying thingy!

    Rounded off the day by popping my "beaver tail" cherry, as you do,
    (think chunky pancake with lashings of sugary toppings) - sugar stairway to heaven!

    Considering some people suggested I skip Ottawa because it was boring I'm blummin glad I didn't.

    ...

    Departure morning started badly with a broken tent pole, but with Brian's help we splinted it with lollipop sticks and Duck tape and it may yet survive.

    Onwards in a south westerly directions intercepting bear tracks and a lovely guy called Dawoud who was on a tour back home...we might even meet up in Niagara On The Lake! Brill?
    Read more