Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 40

    First contact

    June 10, 2023 in Canada ⋅ ☀️ 17 °C

    From Hamilton the TCT wends north of Toronto to Barrie then westward along Lake Huron's northern shores; I had other plans. I'd got wind of an alternative route cutting through the Bruce Peninsula and up to Tobermory where it should be possible to get a ferry across the Georgian Bay - a more direct and allegedly prettier path, not to mention all the fun of a ferry. Sign me up shipmate.

    A lunchtime search of Warm Showers (WS) served me up a couple of lovelies in the form of David & Colleen in Elmira; great welcome, lush dinner, fun chat and Dave produced some spare tent poles - winner. Added to that they knew another Manc further up my route in Kincardine whom I should definitely meet and would surely put me up for the night - a call was made and after promising to bring dessert I had a bed for the next day too! I'm finding that there are few things that rival the comfort of knowing where I'm going to sleep next.

    ...

    I now know that Waterloo Region is home to the largest population of Old Order Mennonites in Canada, however when I cycled into Elmira I first mistook these old-fashioned-clothes-wearing people for Quakers.
    Like most religions/faiths, Mennonites vary in their adherence to official doctrine, but most practice a lifestyle without certain elements of modern technology and hold to traditional theological distinctives like wearing plain dress (even to the point of shunning the humble zip!). I know I shouldn't have stolen some photos/vids without asking but I did wave over beforehand (there goes the Prime Directive!), and it was happily returned by the guy hanging off the farming equipment together with a warm smile.

    ...

    The early morning saw us all cycle off together as my hosts were due to join a charity cycle ride. It was again a pleasant novelty to cycle with others for the first time since Brent and Anguite saw me off from Tidnish in Nova Scotia last month, then Dawoud a few weeks ago. It's not that I'm lonely....I seem to be more than happy to occupy myself with memories, daydreams, chitchat and laughter (probably to the raised eyebrows of passing motorists/pedestrians), but it'd be nice to bump into someone else traveling in the same direction for more than an hour.

    Next stop antique biking fanatic Glen and his "museum" - can't wait!
    Read more