Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Gezira

    January 11, 2019 in Egypt ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    With a few hours between my 2 Urban Adventures tours today, I headed nearby to the Cairo Tower on Gezira for a panoramic view of the city. Our driver was kind enough to drop my nearby, saving me precious time. The view was good, but the newly increased admission felt a bit high, though some would argue it's comparable to other buildings around the world.

    Next, off to the neighborhood of Zamalek, location on the north end of the island. It's been described as an area for more affluent folks, and several embassies, including Nigeria are you. You'll know it's an embassy if it's a really cool building you want a photo of, but the guards to wave you off. It's true, it happened twice today...maybe if I were quicker on the draw.

    There's a few streets of interest and exploration, one block some pretty neat mosaics. I also read about a skin care line named after Nefetari, but I didn't end up finding the store as it was time to start heading back to meet for my second tour. Maybe I'll come across it later.
    Read more