Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Red Sea Snorkelling/Beach Day

    January 21, 2019 in Egypt ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    A day of doing almost nothing but relaxing and hanging out. Our bus picked us up bright and early for a drive to the marina where a boat waited to take us to Mahmya Beach on Giftun Island. The marina was in a different part of town that had more people in it as well as shops, so we wished we were closer here so we could venture out at night.

    The beach is about a 45 minute ride from the mainland, and then a smaller boat transferred us to the beach due to the shallow waters. Some of us would stay on the beach on sunrise while the rest hopped back on the boat later in the morning for snorkelling. The water was cool but not too cold, but I only stayed in for a few seconds as the lifejacket (I'm not a strong swimmer) was too big, hindering my swimming and the snorkel mask didn't fit properly. Bummer...but my tour mates who did swim out farther saw quite a few fish. From where I was, the water was definitely calmer and prettier than when I was last at the Red Sea in Aqaba in 2014.

    After lunch, my roommate and I went for a walk along the water. There were some pretty shells but there are clear signs forbidding shells and sand .to be removed. Alas, we could only take pictures. Time flew quickly and our day drew to a close before we knew it. On the boat ride back, a few of us settled down at the front of the boat. Cue Titanic moment "I'm flying, Jack!" There's a spot you can stand and get a cheesy photo taken. Yes I did and no, you'll unlikely ever see that photo =P

    More photos to come...having issues getting photos off my phone
    Read more