Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    Old Jaffa and more chilling by the beach

    February 2, 2019 in Israel ⋅ ☀️ 17 °C

    Checked out of my hotel and into the next one for the group tour. Thought I was a bit of a smart cookie by picking a place just around the corner =) Today being Sabbath, a lot of places are closed, but I am headed to old Jaffa for a free tour with Sandeman's Tours. They run free walking tours in a number of European cities. Basically you tip your guide at the end of the tour, though same suggest you can put in what you feel it's worth. It's always worth more than the tip so bigger groups make it worth their while more.

    Our guide explained quite a bit of history about Old Jaffa, walking us through the old gates and showing us a picture of Tel Aviv before it existed. Jaffa is originally an Arab city that's been around 4000 years. It is said that Jonah from the bible was swallowed up here and there's a Greek legend about Andromeda being sacrificed here as well.

    There's a few sites to see here including St Peter's Church, Catholic and one of 2 west facing churches in Israel). Abrasha Park gives you a sweeping view of Tel Aviv and there's a wishing bridge nearby as well, where you touch your zodiac sign, look at the sea and make your wish. You'll also find Simon the Tanner's house (though it's not much to see) as well as Egyptian pillars from Ramses II. The port is neat to explore as well and there's quite a few galleries around. If you like antiques, there's a flea market as well.

    I also came across a place, Bamboo, that puts your cold pressed juice into glass bottles. A little more expensive than other stalls, I really appreciated not having needed to use one more plastic cup. Unsure of whether I could take the bottle with me, they assured me I could. After finishing the refreshing fresh orange juice, I did bring the bottle back. I have a feeling the prices are higher because of the bottle. Would be nice if they gave you a few shekels back for returning the glass =)

    A leisurely stroll back to the hotel and trying to find a late lunch, before hanging out on the beach til sunset. I have really loved the sunsets in Tel Aviv, all stunning as the sun drops into the sea.
    Read more