Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 36

    Sightseeing around the Rain

    February 13, 2019 in Turkey ⋅ 🌧 6 °C

    Rain and wind today, but I was lucky the hotel had loaner umbrellas. I decided to head over across the Golden Horn to Aga Hamami for a hamam or Turkish bath. There are some really inexpensive local places to choose from and seem higher end touristy one. After some research, I picked this place, about $40 and did the sauna, had a scrub, bubble wash and an oil massage. The Turkish bath is more about cleansing your body instead of a spa, but they tried to make it a relaxing experience. It wasn't very busy though you do get shuffled from the station to station.

    Stopped by a Starbucks on the busy shopping street after near Taksim Square and then took the metro back to the Grand Bazaar, another covered roof activity =) It's definitely touristy, and you can probably find most of you want to buy in here, even though you shouldn't. I escaped unscathed but it was lots of fun just to wander, see what's offered and do a little research on prices.

    Dinner-wise, I checked out Hanzade Terrace Restaurant. It was early, about 5pm, but I did skip lunch. Not too far a walk from the hotel and had a nice view of the Bosphorus despite the weather. Staff was really nice, and offered free appetizer and dessert. For the main, I order grilled fish and it was absolutely delish. They also gave me an apple tea after dinner, and the owner offered me a second as well, and to sit awhile because of the weather.

    My umbrella kept flipping over from the wind, and it would be a lost cause by the time I went back to hotel. Weather's supposed to get better as the days go by, On my way back, I found the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia for some nice night photos.
    Read more