Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Jeju 1

    May 11, 2023 in South Korea ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    Jeju Day 1 - a free day before several day tours. I flew from Busan to Jeju and got to my hotel about 2pm. Not much on the itinerary today except getting noodles at the famous Jamae Guksu (Sister Noodles). I believe they used to have a small location somewhere else, but now the maps direct you to a larger place outside Jeju City. The bus system is fairly easy to navigate in Jeju, though the frequencies are questionable into evening hours.

    I ended up arriving at 3pm, but the restaurant didn't open til 4pm so I headed over to Iho Taewoo beach nearby to kill some time. The noodles itself was delicious and it's easy to order on the tablet.

    After the late lunch, it was off to Dodu Rainbow Coastal Road where you guessed it, the path along the water where it meets the sidewalk is painted the colors of the rainbow. It's a cute place and you can wander along, even stopping at a few statues along on the way. From there, the weather was nice enough to keep walking back into town along the water. It probably took about 2 hours as I tried stopping into a cafe but they were sold of the dessert I wanted, and then through Yongduam Rock and Yongyeon Pond.

    I wasn't too hungry for dinner, but made the short walk to the night market at Donggun for some snacks. It was a lively atmosphere anchored by the dancing Lobster Guys. A lot of the food portions were quite large though and best shared. I ended up getting tangerine ice cream, tangerine juice and a black pork skewer.
    Read more