Uydu
Haritada göster
  • Gün 19

    Mongolia

    20 Mayıs 2023, Moğolistan ⋅ ☁️ 2 °C

    After 2 1/2 weeks on my own, I was looking forward to joining my Mongolia tour and switching off my brain from logistics. Mongolia's been on my list for some time, and happened this year when I had to change previous plans. I was keeping an eye on the world and was a bit concerned since today was cold and called for snow. So much I considered buying a coat or blanket despite my limited baggage space.

    After landing at the Ulanbaatar airport, I realized I'd given my hotel the wrong flight information. The information desk helped called them and I was advised to take a taxi. Considering the costs as the airport is quite far out, I contemplated the bus before booking a shuttle at the next counter. Luckily for me, it was super inexpensive and dropped me right at my hotel for only $9 instead of the $35 the hotel would've charged.

    I shared the shuttle with 2 other girls, and admittedly was a bit nervous given the low cost, but it seemed legit since they had a counter and I paid by credit card. Fortunately the driver also spoke Korean (I think) and conversed with one of the girls who was in town for work and the other was visiting a friend. I also followed along with Google maps.

    After checking in the hotel, it was a bit of an adventure finding a currency exchange place since it was Saturday and the banks were closed. I finally managed to find a block where there were several changers and ended up in one storefront that had several local women in it. The rates were pretty much what I saw at the airport though so that was good.

    There wasn't much on my itinerary today, so I just wandered around, checking out the Square, The State Department store, bubble tea and food. There's a lot of Soviet influence in Ulanbaatar, from the alphabet to the designs of the buildings. It's a bit odd when you stand in the square to look at the Genghis Khan statue and then turn around to see modern skyscrapers and hotels. The Cyrillic alphabet is also used so signs were hard to understand though one could pick out the odd word or two.

    I came across bubble tea in my travels and it was actually pretty good, the drink seems popular here as I also saw a number of young people with a cup in their hands. My walk would take me to Shangri-la mall where I not only discovered a movie theatre, but also cheap popcorn. Can't say no to that.

    From there I scouted out my hotel for tomorrow, before popping into Mandu House for an early dinner. I ordered steamed dumplings but they did take quite a bit of time which apparently is normal. The dumplings were huge though and I ended up having to pack half.

    An early night given the rain and cold, but it's supposed to be sunny and warmer going forward.
    Okumaya devam et