Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Arriving at Skaland, Senja

    February 28, 2019 in Norway ⋅ ☀️ -4 °C

    As I drove up that road (final photo of the last footprint) the golden light on the snow was amazing and it only confirmed why I'd wanted to visit an Arctic region again, but now I wondered if I'd be too late to catch this light at the location I knew was not far past the end of the tunnel - The Bergsbotn Viewpoint.

    You'll have just seen the view from there because the main photo of this footprint is the view I saw when I arrived ... and remember, apart from any Aurora photos that might come my way, all photos in this blog are taken with my phone. That view was awe inspiring and I set my tripod and camera and stayed capturing images while the light changed as the sun set and the colours on the mountains and reflections in the water continually changed. It is true to say on this occasion there definitely was (perfect) light at the end of the tunnel.

    Eventually I had to drag myself away to go to my hotel about ten minutes further on and when I arrived the sunset afterglow was in full swing. A quick phone panorama then I quickly picked up my key, checked meal times (only until 7pm), found my room then left to see if there were photo opportunities to be had. I drove back along the fjord where the water was calm and acting as a mirror against majestic snow-brushed mountains. I couldn't believe what I was seeing, I had only just arrived and had already been given perfect conditions in which to play. I am so lucky.

    It was almost completely dark as I drove back to the hotel for my meal but I arrived in good time for good food.

    The day wasn't over yet however ...
    Read more