Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Aurora Came to Dance

    February 28, 2019 in Norway ⋅ ⛅ -3 °C

    No, the day certainly wasn't over yet. I finished my meal then went outside to check the skies. The app I have on my phone had already suggested the chances for the Northern Lights tonight were good. So when I looked up there they were, dimly shimmering in the northern skies.

    I quickly went inside and layered up, picked the wide angle lenses I needed, checked the spare battery and travelled back towards the Bergsbotn Viewpoint - where else?

    Along the way I stopped where I'd taken the reflections photos earlier and here's what I saw. I stayed here a while until the lights died down then headed for the viewpoint. The lights were almost gone now but every now and then they would appear again so I stayed up there for quite some time, taking photos when the opportunity arose and basking in the -10c temperatures of a cold evening. I have photos from there of course and you can see them when I've processed and printed them. I processed this one especially for you to see.

    Eventually the predicted cloud cover arrived and took the lights away. I stayed a little longer but then it was around 11.30pm and time to warm up. Funnily, I never felt cold at all.

    What an amazing day and what have I done to deserve this, to experience the wonders of our planet in the way I have done today?

    I really hope you've enjoyed today's journey with me. Wow!
    Read more