Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Tungeneset Viewpoint

    March 1, 2019 in Norway ⋅ ☁️ -1 °C

    I drove away from the beach, passing my hotel then turning left to go through a long tunnel to pop out at Steinfjord. Not all that much further on from there is the Tunganeset Picnic Site but I think it sounds better if you call it a Viewpoint because you go there to view the Devil's Teeth mountains ... oh, and have a picnic I guess. The phone picture here gives the general idea but the reason photographers visit is because of the large rock pools which are great for reflections. Sorry, I should have taken a reflection shot for you and I neglected to. I ended up staying here until I needed to go back to the hotel to eat: Mexican buffet - really good.

    I took a number of 'proper' photos here and one which I particularly like and will undoubtedly enter into competitions. You see, while I was taking my photos there were other photographers there too then they left, leaving just one who was concentrating on photographing the waves breaking over the rocks. He ended up posing in one of my photos for me and was the perfect solitary figure on the rocks, with the Devil's Teeth behind. I really like it and hopefully you will too.

    My 'model' was also from Germany, travelling on his own because his wife 'hates the cold.' I wonder how many German photographers are left in Germany right now.

    The second image here represents me trying to capture the evening light over the mountains. I almost didn't include it because I don't think it's all that good, but hopefully I have better versions on the 'big' camera.

    So far then, not such a good day as yesterday but still some success and not a wasted day by any means ... and enjoyable too. Where did the time go?
    Read more