Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Sand, Snow and Meeting New People

    March 1, 2019 in Norway ⋅ ❄️ -2 °C

    My plan for today was to travel northwards from Skaland and explore the coast to find photographic locations en-route, or i-rute as they say in Norway. I didn't get very far though.

    To start the day I decided to go to the beach at the end of the Fv251, or turn right out the hotel and keep going until you can't. I'd spotted this as a possible location before the trip and as it was only ten minutes away it seemed like a good idea.

    I spent way too much time here trying to find photographic compositions that simply didn't become apparent. I should have cut my losses and moved on because I ended up spending way too much time here. I have photos but I'll be surprised if they come to much.

    The highlights of this location were the sign for the toilets, the toilets themselves (check the photos) and the people I met here.

    I never thought of landscape photography as a social event but here I met a German couple who'd rented a house for two weeks using Skaland as a base for their photography. We chatted for ages about where we'd been, photography and photo related stuff. It was amazing how many locations in different countries we'd both been to. They left and I attempted a couple more photos, got nowhere then as I walked back to the car, I met another German who was on a Senja photo trip. Again we chatted for a while and I was amazed to discover he intended to walk up a mountain that night and would be camping there to hopefully catch the Aurora and maybe the sunrise tomorrow. When I mentioned the cold his answer was, "It's probably warmer in my tent than sleeping in the car." Okay, he was twenty-something but even so, neither of those choices would ever have been on my list of things to do in Norway in winter. I was kind've impressed though, even if I did think he was bonkers.
    Read more