Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    A Penguin on a Sunny Day

    March 2, 2019 in Norway ⋅ ☀️ -4 °C

    In December when I came to Tromsø with Penny & Tom, the forecast had been for pretty much continuous snow the entire time, but it wasn't anything like that and we had pretty much ideal weather the entire trip. It was the same this time - not continual snow forecast but mostly cloudy with regular snow showers. As you can see however, this has not (so far) been the case though for photography, as I've said already, bright sunny days with clear blue skies is not what's needed to get moody or atmospheric photographs. Don't get me wrong though, you can still capture some stunning views but as an example, take a look at the main photo of this footprint captured on a brief stop at Tungeneset where now it looks completely different to yesterday. Which do you prefer? I bet you prefer this one don't you ... sad face!

    The original plan was that yesterday I'd explore the area north of Skaland but I didnt get very far as you know. Having spoken to the hotel reception about whether I should stick to the original plan of going south today, or continuing northwards, they recommended north. So that's what I did, hence the very brief stop to check out the light at Tungeneset.

    I had a lovely driving tour with the odd stop for photography but I found it hard to find compositions with the harsh light today. I was either in full sunlight or flat shadow alongside fjords where the sun was too low to make it above the mountains. You have to remember that my photography isn't all about what the light may or may not be, I have to somehow also be in the right mood and be inspired to be creative. Today it wasn't happening for me and I've learned not to try and force things. Nothing good comes from that.

    For most of today I was therefore happy to be a wandering Penguin, taking a relaxing drive through the stunning landscapes in which I was immersed and stopping every now and then simply to try and take it all in.
    Read more