Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Whitby on Saturday

    October 30, 2021 in England ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    The weather continues to be unsettled so it was just as well the day was planned for a relatively slow start because upon opening the curtains this morning it was dull and rainy. How unusual for this trip.

    As the time arrived to leave I was not hopeful the weather would improve but went anyway, which turned out to be exactly the right thing to do. Elizabeth dropped me off, leaving me to walk down towards the harbour area, and as I headed through the streets the sun began to break through the clouds and marked the arrival of lovely weather for the rest of the day. Just to prove it, the main photo here was taken on my way to get picked-up at the end of the afternoon and it had been like that throughout..

    My goodness was Whitby crowded, as you can see in the photos. This is great for the town of course - I believe around £1 million is deposited into the community over the three days. As suggested yesterday, there were more people in costume today but the photography was harder because it was tricky to isolate them from the busy backgrounds filled with people. There were way more photographers too, but life wasn’t impossible and I still managed to get photos I was pleased with.

    To show you more photos than the six per footprint allowed, I’ve split today into two footprints so read-on to the next one to see a few of my favourite ones from today,
    Read more