Спутник
Показать на карте
  • День 10

    Back to the Mainland

    25 июля 2022 г., Шотландия ⋅ ☁️ 11 °C

    Today it was time to catch the ferry back to Ullapool, which was booked for 2pm but for some reason it arrived late and therefore left late. I was in no hurry though.

    The crossing wasn't so eventful as the journey out and although I did see some dolphins-a-leaping once, there were nowhere near as many and no sign of whales either. I need to refresh my thinking too, as I'm no longer convinced I saw a humpback on the way out, just a minke. No ... not a monkey Cato!
    (If you haven't seen Pink Panther I don't think you will understand that comment.)

    The video needs to have the sound switched on, but maybe you'll wish it wasn't when you hear it. This is the musical accompaniment in the key of cars which occurs each time the ferry makes a course change. A honking good performance I'd say, though hopefully you won't be too alarmed by it.

    Having left the ferry I headed to the campsite where I'd stayed before, settled myself in, showered and then headed back to Ullapool for my evening meal. You would, wouldn't you and it was Monday so that would be okay too.

    The first place I arrived, as recommended when I checked in at the campsite, was closing because clearly 7.30pm is far too late to expect to eat. Never mind, this is Ullapool and there are plenty of other places to choose from, except clearly not on a Monday evening because they were also all shut, closed and not open for business.

    I do speak an untruth of course, because photo 4 shows where I was able to get my meal this evening and to be fair The Seaforth pub next to The Chippy was open but was booked solid, probably because most diners hadn't eaten for weeks. What is going horribly wrong here? I'm in a tourist area in summer and it appears to have escaped the attention of Scotland.

    Anyway, on a somewhat brighter note I have to report that The Chippy turned out to sell me the most splendid scampi and chips I think I have ever eaten. I've even photographed it laid out in the 'kitchen' area in my van with a towel for a table cloth so you can admire it. Posh or wot but okay, I realise it doesn't look much but it tasted absolutely yummy.

    Thank you Ullapool, for being closed.
    Читать далее