Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Gunnuhver Hot Springs

    June 20, 2023 in Iceland ⋅ 🌬 10 °C

    Just a short three minute drive away things are very different. Here the air is filled with the smell of sulphur and as you move along the boardwalks the smell gets much stronger. You know the one ... rotten eggs. Yummy.

    You can get really close on the boardwalk but there are many signs warning not to stray from it. The ground is very hot here, though at one time it wasn't so bad and there was a house here where an artist lived, making pottery from the clay and painting.

    It was quite warm standing by the vent, watching the boiling water and steam, then every now and then you'd get surrounded by the drifting cloud. If you stayed too long in it, you would quite wet but I avoided that to be honest. I loved it here though.

    I then noticed the time and decided to head back to find my accommodation for the night. I was really glad I'd hired the car and never realised how much there was to see within 30 miles of the airport ... and I hadnt seen all there was to see either. Amazing.
    Read more