Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Return to Jökulsárlón

    July 3, 2023 in Iceland ⋅ ⛅ 12 °C

    Having slept in a little after my late night, I had breakfast and the essential coffee, packed things away then started the drive west back towards Vik. Photo 2 is the view as I drove along the Stokksness peninsula back towards the main road then, after a quick stop for fuel I continued on.

    The next photos are various snaps along the way and as I was passing Jökulsárlón I decided I'd stop at the cafe there for mushroom soup. The sign at the counter describes it as 'Soup of the Day' but each time I've visited since 2015 it has always been mushroom soup. Evidence of my choice is in photo 8 which shows the soup, the bread roll and the coffee, as well as the view through the cafe window to a new car park.

    After I'd eaten I went to check the lagoon and noticed that the ice dam had now disappeared so in the last photo you can see the water level has dropped with slightly more beach visible. This place is constantly changing.
    Read more