Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    A Night At The Opera....House

    December 26, 2023 in Argentina ⋅ 🌙 21 °C

    Tonight we made our second visit to Teatro Colon, not for an opera, but to see a ballet. Frankly, I'm not the most cultured person when it comes to this stuff, but back in July, I bought tickets for La Bayadera, a ballet I'd never heard of. The important thing was being able to see a production, any production in BA's spectacular opera house.

    Well, it was a good thing I didn't have my heart set on that ballet because a couple of months later, the program was changed to El Corsario, another ballet unknown to me.

    Based on Lord Byron's poem, The Corsair, the three act performance features a sailing ship, lots of pirates, slave girls, swashbuckling, betrayal, and love at first sight.

    And the production put on by Teatro Colon was absolutely world-class, breathtaking, and mesmerizing. With music provided by the Buenos Aires Philharmonic, a cast of probably a hundred dancers, and beautiful set design, Brenda and I were treated to a spectacle we won't soon forget.

    The dancers, particularly the main characters, floated across the stage, performing gravity-defying leaps and lifts, dizzying pirouettes, and seemingly effortless en pointe steps.

    Brenda and I were both captivated by the spectacle and were a little disappointed when the final curtain came down, ending the performance on a happy note with the two lovers in each other's arms.

    Sorry, no pictures from this one. Grouch, Harpo and Chico will have to do.
    Read more