Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Stuttgart

    September 2, 2022 in Germany ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    The last big stop in Germany is coming up. The biggest to be exact. I lived there for a few years. It didn't help me much professionally, but I made some good friends. So it happens that I visit several friends there, especially Robin*, Susi* and my godchild Daniela*.
    We spend almost a whole week together and I have the time be part of her everyday life, for which I am incredibly grateful. Every day she makes little progress and I have to hide my camera from her when I take photos, because once she has focused on something, she wants it! 🫢

    Together with Maria*, another friend, we attend the Bukahara concert, which has been postponed for two years due to the global pandemic. We don't get the same carefree feeling we had back then when I purchased the tickets, but the visit is certainly worth it.

    One evening my algerian friend Susi* discovers a huge spider in the flat. It has long hairy legs. You know what I'm talking about.
    I get the biggest glass I can find, approach slowly and set it down with a sigh of relief. The whole thing must have looked pretty funny because Susi* starts laughing: "Til, you sleep outside in nature! Why are you of all people so afraid of this spider?"
    "That's why I only sleep in a tent , so they all stay outside !" I retort.
    (And besides, natural spiders are much smaller, no idea why.)

    During my time in Stuttgart I also visit Bibi* and Jan* and get to know their son Martin*. Bright little guy, with a smile that blows you away. 😊

    My last stop leads me to Jeffrey* , who has ignited in me the desire for 'real' cycling. Not as blatantly as he does 😇 but still.

    Shortly after Düsseldorf, so already a few days ago, I noticed the loss of my tent pole. It's just an extending pole that enlarges the tent. It is not absolutely necessary but nice-to-have.
    Since losing it, I've been wondering what's wrong with me - how you can lose a bright red tent pole in a forest.
    (Unfortunately not the first but the most important/expensive thing I lost on this trip).
    I have since ordered a replacement and had it delivered to him. I open the package and find that the packaging has been opened and is incomplete - one of the end caps is missing 🥳.
    There is not much time to think about a solution, I have to find it later. So I take everything I need with me and get the bike ready to go. (Tent pole drama 2/3 )

    The next day Jeffrey* and me head off through the Black Forest. We're having good progress - in my estimation - but are still pretty slow, because my bike is not made for ihgh speeds.
    I must emphasise here that I rode the following days completely without luggage, so that I could keep up with him somehow. What a riding experience! 😄

    * all names changed :)
    Read more