Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 43

    Le Mont-Saint-Michel

    September 26, 2022 in France ⋅ 🌧 13 °C

    After storing all my bike bags in a bakery, I was able to visit the unique mountain without any worries. (By the way, the lack of storage facilities for luggage is the biggest obstacle for me as a bicycle traveller, but I realise that I am travelling in a niche, because others use hotels or campsites. )

    I knew it was going to rain hard and the wind was going to be fierce, so I wrapped myself up as best I could. For me, the 1.5 km walk was therefore a great experience despite the rain and wind, others were not so well prepared and came to meet me with soaking wet trousers, distorted faces, bent umbrellas and sad looking dogs.

    The inside of the monastery walls is very touristy. There are many restaurants, snack stalls and souvenir shops, a bit of a pity because the atmosphere suffers as a result.
    I bought a ticket for a tour of the abbey, which is centrally located and perched at the top of the mountain. Without an audio guide, I had no further information about the individual halls, crypts, chambers, rooms etc. and therefore found the interior ordinary. However, all the views from up there were spectacular.
    Read more