Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 44

    Rennes

    September 27, 2022 in France ⋅ 🌬 16 °C

    Eve of the city visit

    Rennes, the capital of Brittany - like the whole of Brittany itself - will always be a rainy place in my memory after today's visit. I have rarely experienced such wet weather, and for so many days in a row. I know that's unfair to the region because the last week of September was wet all over France but it fits the narrative and life isn't always fair. 😃

    In the evening I found a refuge in the forest where I made myself comfortable. There I built myself a cheap second cooker.
    My actual cooker works with petrol and it's a bit complicated to get pure petrol here (or it's expensive). After a few attempts, I was finally able to prepare my dinner and now have a cheap burner variant that has low consumption and also gives me some heat. 🔥

    28 September

    It rains cats and dogs all night and I am glad that the tent is watertight. It will stay like this all morning so there is no reason to get up early.
    In the morning I am woken by a few approaching voices, but I stay in the tent as it is still raining outside and I have no reason to leave the warmth of my sleeping bag.
    I have my breakfast in the shelter and notice that the forest is teeming with young people. Talking to their teacher, I learn that they are learning to orientate and navigate in the forest.

    The actual visit to the city is briefly summarised, as I am in Rennes for quite banal reasons:
    1. buy and change an inner tube, my current one has to be pumped up every few hours. I do this at 'Le Citron 🍋', a bike shop that also offers a café.
    2. I have to do some laundry.
    After that, I roll through the old town and admire the half-timbered houses and street art, then I roll off into the sunset.
    Read more