Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 49

    Two sides of the same river

    October 2, 2022 in France ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    My original plan was to cycle directly south to Bordeaux. Now I read how beautiful the Loire cycle path is and get excited. It is the most popular cycle path of all, so I take a look at it and head east.
    The path is not well developed: sometimes it is asphalted, sometimes just a larger forest path. It is relatively narrow, muddy and today I use it together with participants of a regional run. On top of that, there are almost no views. To my left is the fortification wall of a railway track bed, to my right is dense tree growth.
    This drags on for 10 km and I begin to wonder what the other candidates for the best cycle path might look like.

    I finally decide not to continue along this cycle path, but to take the road to Bordeaux. To do so, I have to cross the river and cycle back a bit.
    On the other bank, the path is suddenly much nicer: wide, well paved, it is altogether brighter and offers beautiful views.
    I change the plan again: I will ride along this side of the river, which turns out to be the best decision of the day, because after a short while I climb an ascent and have a spectacular view over the river.

    As I ride through small sleepy towns, sometimes only a few houses, I notice that the architecture is now more Mediterranean- or what I associate with it: red roof tiles, sand/cream coloured walls and a bit of a crumbling facade.

    I end the day at a picnic spot. I lie down in the sun and read. Life is good.

    PS: the bird in the picture is the first bald eagle sighted here.
    Read more