Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 53

    Mervent

    October 6, 2022 in France ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    The route from Bressuire is again much more varied than along the Loire, because you are presented with something new around every bend. I ride part of the way through very beautiful forests, watch cows stretching (I've never seen cows do that before😳) and follow my route.

    I plan the route anew every day using an app. I enter the start and destination and don't bother with details. Most of the time it works well, you can even determine the type of bike and get adapted routes - but there is no category 'super heavy duty bike' (or 'tank' as I've been called lately 😁), which puts me in front of major obstacles from time to time.
    I am off-road on a track that is narrow and becomes a mountain bike track in the last few metres in the forest. There I have to dismount. Immediately afterwards, however, I am more than rewarded with the view of a beautiful lake in the middle of the forest, and the view in Mervent of the surrounding reservoir is also really beautiful.
    In the village I see the fantastic red coloured leaves.

    At night I wake up with a cramped back, which has happened quite often in the last weeks. There's no quick fix and I'm left with only a few pain-free sleeping positions for the night.
    Funnily enough, the next day I find a poster that aptly visualises the problem. So it's all about little red pests 😡 that get stuck in the muscles. All right.
    Read more