Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 52

    Cheerful with the prospect of headwind

    October 5, 2022 in France ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    The evening before, I am preparing my dinner when a bird starts pecking behind me. Shortly afterwards a pheasant struts out of its cover, but before I can focus my camera well it disappears into a safe distance.

    The next morning the same thing happens again: the pheasant roars, I move towards the camera, but before I can focus properly it has flown away. I still have to practise.

    When I look at the weather forecast for the tour in the morning, I think to myself 'This is going to be fun'. There will be a headwind of around 20 km/h all day.
    I start and actually only manage about 13 km/h, a snail's pace. There's no other way. At least I'm accompanied by good music, which motivates me and lifts my spirits.

    In the afternoon I wash my clothes and dry them during a long break. I would hardly make any progress on the bike anyway. As I rummage in a bag, I see a business card in it and get a nice surprise:
    The card is from the baker in Beauvoir who looked after my bags while I visited Mont Saint Michel. She simply smuggled it into my bag without me noticing. 😄
    She writes "Thank you for passing through our bakery. I wish you many trips with your bike or with words" - I had been writing postcards in the bakery for several hours.
    How lovely. 😊
    Read more