Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 108

    I hate this rain ❤️

    November 30, 2022 in Portugal ⋅ 🌧 14 °C

    In the preliminary talks for my trip, I was asked again and again what I would do in certain situations:
    What would happen if I encountered wild boars?
    What would happen if I didn't get any money from the ATMs?
    What would I do if I had to fight a pack of snarling street dogs uphill with a flat tyre?

    Today's question is much more banal and is:
    How do I behave when it is raining and I have just broken the zipper of my rain jacket?

    My first idea, to tie the jacket with a piece of rope, lasts about 5 minutes, then the rope is so loose again that I might as well leave it alone...

    I envy the drivers who come towards me in their warm and protected cocoons.

    The second half of the day is much more pleasant because I have a great restaurant dinner (with dessert!) and move into a surfer's hostel in the evening. It's raining buckets outside, but I don't care. A little rain 🌊🌊🌊 is also good for nature. 🤪

    The wet memories of the rain will eventually fade, while the memories of the conversations in the hostel and my new resolution will remain:
    I will learn to surf. 🏄‍♂️
    Read more