Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 109

    Western point of continental Europe

    December 1, 2022 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 16 °C

    The way here is an adventure again: up and down hills, off-road through the mud and then I am rewarded with this spectacular view.

    At a petrol station I make a routine pump-up stop and notice the loose spokes on my rear wheel.
    I've always been suspicious of bicycle spokes, some people think lacing is a mystical process, others always lace everything by hand. I, who have no idea, cheerfully tighten the loose spokes one by one. (Author's note in retrospect: here I should have paused again and reminded myself of the mechanics).
    After 60 minutes I have tightened some of the spokes, but there are still some loose ones and I notice that the wheel is now wobbly. Yay! I've fixed it broken! 😅
    But as long as it's still rolling, it has to carry me.
    Lisbon is not far away, I'm sure I can get some help there.
    Read more