Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 241

    Moulay Idriss Zerhoun

    April 12, 2023 in Morocco ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    I visit the hilly Moulay Idriss. Volubilis, the most important Roman archaeological site in North Africa, is just outside the city.
    We don't agree on the entrance fee, I don't want to spend the money on just looking at a few stones, and there don't seem to be any further information panels that would help me to remember the place.
    I feed the street dog Lina and walk into town.

    There are three lookout points and many children who are happy to guide you to one of the points. I am accompanied by Ines (9) and Mohamed (9), who show me their town and take me to all the viewpoints.
    They collect a beautiful bouquet of flowers for me. When the bouquet threatens to turn into a huge place setting, I have to stop them (and another boy who has rushed over). 😄
    They get a little pocket money for the tour and I make my way back to Meknès.
    Read more