Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 483

    Persevere

    December 10, 2023 in Greece ⋅ ☁️ 12 °C

    Time has been passing slowly for 10 days. There's no real sense of elation about being in Greece - instead everything feels like work and I come to the conclusion that I can't enjoy Greece here and now as a cycle traveller.
    I don't feel free, because I have to be in Athens in a few days. My schedule allows only a few deviations and forces me onto the unsightly country roads.

    It is cool and tiring. For the first time, I realise how physically exhausting the constant 'cold' is. I cycle through the world at 10-15 degrees, and it's correspondingly cooler at night. Even with 9 hours of sleep, I'm not the bundle of energy I'd like to be.

    An overnight stay in a hostel could give me a little energy boost, but cheap accommodation is now very far apart (there was some in Ioannina near the Albanian border and then again in Athens, 400km away). However, my mood is not yet bad enough for an overnight stay in a proper hotel 😄.

    There are lots of beautiful views and I find some really great wild camping spots, but I'm just not relaxed enough to enjoy what I get. 😒
    Read more