Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 567

    Balos Beach

    March 3 in Greece ⋅ ☀️ 16 °C

    Today's programme: a trip to Balos beach and its lagoon.
    I fight my way along a really good gravel track to the upper part of the headland.
    My plan to spend the night up there is thwarted by the signs prohibiting everything - there's no room for interpretation in case of a discussion. 😬
    This leaves me a little less time to marvel - but it's enough. The view is extraordinarily good.
    The colour scheme at this location couldn't be more beautiful: you walk along a path of ochre-coloured sand with small blue stones. Small green bushes grow to the left and right of the path. Then you can see the lagoon with its turquoise blue water and the island behind it, which rises out of the water with rich grey rocks.

    In the evening I quickly find a nice place to sleep on the beach in a well-preserved garden. 🥰
    Read more