Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 568

    Elafonisi Beach

    March 4 in Greece ⋅ 🌬 16 °C

    The route through the mountains is long but fun. Nobody else is likely to get here - especially not by bike - Komoot once again finds the craziest routes. 👍
    In one of the mountains along the way is the Cave of Saint Sofia - or the Cave of God's Wisdom. My assumption that this may be just a small niche in the rock is dispelled when I see its dimensions.

    There are several stalagmites in the centre, estimated to be around five metres high.
    Arrows to the left indicate a circular route. Here we go.
    First stop: a small hut on the edge of the cave. The dark little room doesn't exactly inspire confidence, but I guess no one is going to hurt me in this religious site.
    I continue the walk behind the stalagmites and a little deeper into the cave. It's pitch dark here and it takes me about three minutes to get round. Back at the entrance, I realise that the tour really was longer than I thought.

    Elafonisi Beach wasn't really pink, just a little bit. The colour has to build up again.
    On the beach I meet up with Amelie and Olivia again, who I had already bumped into in Chania. Because it's almost sunset time I have to get going again as the best spots in the forest are probably already taken.

    The evening and night are very windy. I'm at the riverbed and at first I have trouble putting up the tent and then it's not so pleasant inside. I'm constantly worried that the tarpaulin will tear and as soon as I've calmed down, a strong gust of wind comes and pushes the fabric into my face. 😑
    Read more