Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 589

    Hinterland Experiences

    March 25 in Greece ⋅ ☀️ 15 °C

    The day starts well with breakfast in my wind-protected guardhouse. 🏰

    The first hills soon appear, but overall it's easy to make it to Plakias. There, a children's parade passes me accompanied by marching music. They are all dressed in traditional costumes and try to walk in step. It seems strange. Today is the national holiday of liberation from the Ottomans.

    A little further on, I catch a glimpse of a heron sunbathing. That makes for some great motifs 📸

    The next highlight (or low light?) is the Preveli palm beach. 🌴
    I don't understand where exactly the path runs through the palm trees and how it can be used, as there are prohibition signs with ambiguous statements on both sides of the river. 😵‍💫 The right side of the river looks unkempt and points to the left side of the river, the left side of the river is under water and even more unsightly.
    1/7 points for Gryffindor.
    I'm still taking photos and am about to turn back when three geese get in my way and want a piece of my apple. They threaten me with their necks stretched out and slowly come closer. The biggest one keeps nipping at me to get something and I feel like I did back in the school playground. They get something and I take advantage of a moment of their inattention to slip away.

    We go up more hills. Somewhere on a bend, a daring crab sits on the carriageway. When it sees me, it raises its claws to fight. I carry it to safety and build it a stone cave where it can hide and think about its life.

    Then there are another 1000 mountains and journeys through small mountain villages through which hardly any cars dare to pass: Drimiskos - it's a dead zone. Time stands still, not a soul to be seen. The alleyways are narrow and unclear, everything is a bit crooked. As I have now broken through the cloud cover, the town is still shrouded in fog and the feeling of loneliness intensifies. Feelings like in Silent Hill come up. I do come across one or two people. At the end of the village, a flock of sheep is eagerly waiting for me and comes trotting up bleating. These are actually the first sheep that don't immediately run away from me. 🤗
    I'm sure they haven't seen anyone else today and are happy to have company.
    With their yellow fur, they look quite friendly and sniff at my hand.

    In the evening, I camp on an old bridge directly over a river. I hear all kinds of animal noises, something I haven't had for a long time. A little paradise. 🥰
    Read more