Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Aquaba Jordan

    May 15, 2013 in Jordan ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    Well I didn't do Petra again.
    This is my third visit to Aqaba to Jordan and I would like to see Petra, but I refuse to pay the exorbitant entrance fees.
    According to the Jordan website it used to be about £5 to get in to the site, now they are charging over £50 which in my opinion is a rip off.
    Plus it's a two hour taxi ride to get there, so it's going to be one of the things that stays on my bucket list lol.
    Instead I took the shuttle bus to the town with Ken, Denise & Nigel and Freda.
    We went to Macdonalds for a coffee and some free wifi.
    We then had a walk around a small archaeological site which is the site of the original town of Aqaba and dates back to 630 ad.
    We made our way back to the shuttle, except for Nigel and Freda who went to find a taxi to see some of the town.
    When we got back to the ship we headed for the solarium and a well deserved rest on the sun beds lol.
    Later on Karl from the Beatles Celebration came past and we had a chat, well I say a chat it was more of a listen as he can talk for England lol.
    He's a great guy and the Beatles show be puts on is superb.
    Later on he once again blagged his way into the diamond lounge for a free drinks evening with us, lol.
    Read more