Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Villefranche-Sur-Mer

    July 15, 2016 in France ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    After an uneventful day at sea, and quite rough and rocky night, this morning we arrive in Villefranche - sur-mer 🇫🇷.
    This is the port for trips to Nice and Monaco 🇲🇨.
    Now today there are two problems.
    1, the weather, as it's a tender port, if the sea is to rough we won't be able to tender in.
    And 2, the terrible events in Nice yesterday, where there was a suspected terrorist attack, and 80 people were killed and many more injured by a truck, which drove into the crowds of people celebrating Bastille Day.
    This will put a lot of people off going ashore.
    There seems to be no end to the violence and killing, so called in the name of religion.
    On a lighter note, soft arse (me) fell over in the cabin the night before last.
    I was trying to undo my shoe laces, with my foot up on a chair.
    When I did a Del Boy and toppled over and hit my cheek on the table.
    Needless to say, alcohol had a big part to play in the event.
    Also I swear that the Captain swerved to avoid a fish or something.
    That's my excuse and I'm sticking to it. 🤕
    Read more