Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Castle Gibralfaro, Málaga, Spain

    July 21, 2016 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 24 °C

    Right across from the port entrance you can see Castle Gibralfaro, perched at the top of Mount Gibralfaro which part of the foothills of the Montes de Málaga.
    Anyway the castle sits 130m on top of the hill, and I thinking that I'm an intrepid explorer, decides to have a walk up to have a look.
    So I set off not realising that the pathway up is about a 1:10 climb! After about 60 minutes and two stops, to let my breathing fall to a more normal rate, I reach a viewing platform which is apparently about 3/4 of the way up. The views I must admit where amazing, you could see right over the port and the city.
    Also from here you could look down into the local bullring which from that vantage point looked particularly impressive.
    I decided that that the views couldn't be much better right at the top, so that was as far as I went.
    Now coming down, although easier on the lungs was murder on the knees.
    Having said that I think it was well worth the climb to get the views and pictures I got and to see the beautiful flowers and trees on the way up and down.
    When I got back to the ship, someone told me that you could get a bus to the top!
    But although that would be less life threatening, it would not be as much fun as the walk lol.
    I've put a Wikipedia link below, for anyone interested in reading about the castle.

    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gibralfaro
    Read more