Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Las Palmas, Canary Isles

    October 8, 2016 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 21 °C

    Although a lovely place, the city of Las Palmas, in Gran Canaria was not that interesting.
    Maybe if I'd hiked the 5km down to the cathedral it might have been a bit more interesting.
    But having said that, it is a nice, clean, and I thought safe place to wander around.
    It's just me wanting historical stuff to see.
    Speaking of history, there is a replica of the Nina right by the port.
    The Nina is one of the ships that Christopher Columbus, sailed to discover America, not that he was planning to discover America, he was just going to see what was there.
    I do know that there where three ships on the journey, the Nina, the Pinta and the Santa Maria.
    Anyway the one by the port is a replica of the Nina as I said.
    And when you see the size of it you realise that the people who sailed it across the Atlantic where either very brave or completely nuts, I personally think that they where a bit of both.
    Surrounding the Nine there are lots of palm trees 🌴 and there was an old bloke throwing rocks at the branches. I went over to see what his was doing and it turns out that he was knocking the palm fruit out of the tree and collecting it.
    I asked him what it was, but he didn't speak English.
    Using sign language and a couple of English words, I got to understand that the fruit was good to eat.
    Read more