Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Piraeus, Greece

    March 22, 2017 in Greece ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Land ho! Would have been the cry, as we sighted our first port after 8 straight sea days.
    We had arrived in the Greek sea port of Piraeus, which is about 20/30 minutes drive from the capital Athens.
    I have been here a few times and done the Athens tour, so I decided to have a walk around Piraeus itself.
    To be honest, there is not a lot to see in the town, and since the financial collapse of the country it is even more rundown than ever, with homeless people all over the place, and these are not all "immigrants" there are a fair number of Greeks among them, which in my mind makes the situation even sadder.
    On a lighter note, I came across this small building not far from the port which I have seen before, but only from a distance.
    So as the church I was about to visit had a mass in progress, I decided to have a walk over to have a look at it.
    I'm very pleased that I did as it turned out to be a church, but the smallest church I have ever seen.
    It is the size of two large garden sheds, and inside it is stunning and complete with beautiful wall and ceiling frescos.
    I have said many times before that you quite often don't need to travel very far from any port, to find some interesting things.
    In fact most of the time when you arrive in these ports, you tend to ignore the things right outside the gate, and take a bus tour or walk deep in to the town.
    And this little church proved that point to me once again.
    Read more