Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Valletta Malta

    March 24, 2017 in Malta ⋅ ☀️ 11 °C

    Our second and final port of call was Valletta, the Maltese capital.
    This beautiful historic harbour is one of the few really iconic European harbours to sail into and out of, I think it's right up there with Venice.
    Everyone I spoke to who was getting off was going to use the new elevator which has been built to save you having to make the very steep climb from the harbour to the town.
    But me being made of sterner stuff was going to walk up to the town via the one million steps up passed the hospital and the King George V Park.
    And this by the way had nothing to do with me being to mean to pay the €2 charge for the elevator, no matter what stories you hear!
    Anyway the stroll was actually very pleasant as the weather was perfect for walking, ie, not to hot.
    The wander through the town, is wonderful, with every turn giving you sight of beautiful old buildings, and great views of the steep and narrow streets.
    I walked down passed St George's Cathedral to the other side of town which had fantastic views of Manoel Island and over to the right the area of Sliema.
    On my way back, I passed through Strait St and the area called the Gut, which is where the soldiers and sailors who where stationed in Valletta during and after the second world war, went for their entertainment, if you get my meaning.
    I spent about 2.5 hours wandering and only scratched the surface of this wonderful old city.
    But I've been many times before, so I didn't mind.
    Read more