Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Chania (Souda), Crete Greece

    May 4, 2018 in Greece ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    Today we arrived at the Greek island of Crete. The itinerary says Chania, but we actually docked at a place called Souda, which is about 5km from Chania. There was a local bus service into the town, but the queue for tickets was long and I couldn't be bothered to wait, so I had a walk through the tiny town up into the countryside, which was nice.
    I came across a tiny chapel type building, very similar to the one I saw in Piraeus, last year.
    I'm guessing this type of chapel/Church is peculiar to Greece, as I've not seen the like anywhere else.
    Further on up the lane, I came across a beautiful cemetery, where most of the graves were above ground tombs.
    All in all it was a nice couple of hours stroll, and was different from the usual trip into town that tourists usually do.
    Read more